Year in Review

February 20, 2016 at 1:10 am 2 comments

My birthday was a few days ago (the 16th) so here’s a little year in review…

  • Dan (my partner) has been amazingly patient in teaching me to drive, last summer he got me a car, a little Kia Rio to practice in.
  • Along with some other folks, starting forming an independent Druid grove in July- we have had several rituals since then, written by-laws (adapted version of Twin Cities Pagan Pride) and chose the name Northern Roots Grove, we also now have a logo.
  • I got my driver’s license in September (the 3rd test)
  • Got a job in December at my alma mater as a fund-raising assistant, but my skills were not quite up to snuff, so I lost it. Oh well, still learned some things…
  • Smashed up the Kia (I’m OK though!) Buying a new car today! (well new to us..)
  • I’ve been enjoying serving as a board member of the Bisexual Organizing Project, was re-elected to the position this January (it’s a year-long term)
  • There is now a GLBT+ adults with autism support/social group that meets monthly at the Autism Society of Minnesota, prior to the general adult support group led by BOP’s own Sara Lahti. Ran into one of my former campers there!

Upcoming Plans-

  • I just signed up for Voc Rehab (3rd times the charm) Looks like it may be slow getting in due to state funding crunches, so if I get put on a waiting list, I’ll try other things too…
  • Starting up a Bi+ board gaming group- I had a little trouble getting it off the ground before, but just met with one of my fellow board members and we came up with some strategies.
  • Northern Roots Grove will be hosting a party suite at Paganicon in March, along with several other Druid groups. We’ll be next door to the Haitian Vodoun suite. Sign up by the way- another deadline for it is Feb 21!
  • I will be doing a presentation at Paganicon focusing on clearing up common Pagan misconceptions about Irish history post-Christian conversion. It’s only 45 minutes so I will not be covering the Troubles…
  • Helping plan the BECAUSE conference– Bisexual Empowerment Conference, a Uniting Supportive Experience- it’s coming up in April- you should register! and submit workshop proposals! I’m thinking of doing one about self-advocacy.
Entry filed under: Pagan Communities, Pagan Events, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , .

Get In or Get Out: Side-Line Commentators Do More To Hinder Than Help Alternatives to Autism Functioning Labels

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Redfaery  |  February 20, 2016 at 1:29 am

    That sounds great, …well, except for losing your job and smashing your car. Good luck!

    Reply
  • 2. becomenika  |  February 23, 2016 at 5:51 pm

    You must be special when you are born on the same day as I. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Nice post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  

Most Recent Posts


