My husband is more to me than a living jar-opener

August 6, 2014 at 9:33 pm 2 comments

Commentary on reblog below: A lot of Millennials (or Gen Xers) who grew up in apolitical or conservative households are going to be clueless about what feminism is unless they actually go out their way to seek out alternative information. If their info is only from the so-called “mainstream” media than it will have a rightward bias that feminists all want to castrate men, outlaw makeup etc. If these ladies are actually organizing something (even something stupid) then I can’t really call them apolitical, but they still are very uninformed. I also find it telling that sign mentions being “cool” with sexual orientation but assumes male/female relationships and complementarianism, (complementary gender roles) which is a idea some conservative Christians use both to justify traditional hetero marriage and exclude same-sex relationships. Maybe it’s “gay people are fine so long as they’re celibate”. Thank you, how generous!

Now, I don’t mind people who don’t call themselves feminists, (perhaps based on issues with some feminists not being intersectional enough) but act on feminist principles, I’ll take that over people who call themselves feminist but act like bad ones, like the Michigan’s Womyn’s Music Festival.

Fit and Feminist

If you’ve been on the internet at all in the past week, you’ve probably already seen the Women Against Feminism tumblr going around, or at the very least read about it.

I didn’t think too much of it when I saw it, for two reasons. For one, most of the women had a tenuous grasp (at best) on the definition of feminism, one that seemed like it was informed in its entirety by Rush Limbaugh and Jessi Spano, and also the belief that “misandry” jokes are actually serious.

The other reason was that most of the “women” actually looked like teenage girls. Considering that I was super into Ayn Rand when I was a teenage girl, I can’t get too far up on my high horse with regards to the contributors. Let’s just say that if Tumblr was around in the late 1990s, I’m sure there’d be a photo of…

View original post 760 more words

Entry filed under: Feminism/Gender. Tags: , , , , , .

Thou Shalt Accept Every Identity as Valid Myth of the Perfect Social Justice Ally

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eclecticalli  |  August 6, 2014 at 9:42 pm

    I particularly appreciate your last paragraph, “I don’t mind people who don’t call themselves feminists, (perhaps based on issues with some feminists not being intersectional enough) but act on feminist principles, I’ll take that over people who call themselves feminist but act like bad ones”
    Yes…

    Reply
  • 2. caelesti  |  August 7, 2014 at 12:51 am

    I think many people who reject feminism are really rejecting a very narrow band of white middle-class heterosexual dominated second-wave feminism. I think feminism can be much broader than that, but I’d rather work with people constructively than argue over a label.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2014
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


